My Change of Scenery…

Three weeks ago after performing the Michael Jackson tribute with my students, I once again loaded up my car and moved to another state. I’ve been in South Beach, FL for three weeks now but was in NY for one of them so really two. When I arrived, I was shocked for many reasons. The first thing I noticed when I stepped out of my car was how HUMID HOT is was. It felt like I walked into a steam room with a third degree sunburn. I was also shocked at the drop dead gorgeousness of this place. I walked into my new place with my business partner Greg, and was blown away at the view of the bay (pic above doesn’t do justice). There are cruise line ships, yachts, sailboats, and the skyline of Miami all right over our balcony at The Flamingo. There’s always something crazy going on in this building. Last weekend, we managed to ride a crotch rocket down the hallway, set off the fire alarm due to the exhaust, and summon not only the Fire Dept but also the Police Dept. IT WAS A GOOD ONE!

On the business side, I finally got to meet, in person, everyone that I’ve been working with for the past two years. It’s kind of bizarre to talk to someone for that long, multiple times per day without having a face to go along with the voice. The Media 1 offices are impressive with a lot of great people occupying them. It’s by far the best office environment I’ve worked in. It’s nice to be back in an office considering I’ve been working from my laptop and cellphone for the past year and a half.

Aside from Media 1, I started a company with Greg for legal and tax purposes called Stone Soup (you can google the story behind the name) and also a production company (Anomaly) with Greg, Rob, and Rich. The next company with Josh Guthrie in CA (screenwriter of Social Norm) will be legit within the next two weeks. At this point, I’m just trying to have fun and keep up. Things are moving fast.

High Before Homeroom is the book that Greg’s sister Maya Sloan wrote. The novel hit shelves on the 22nd of last month so go buy it if you want to read the book that we’re turning into a movie! So far it’s getting great ratings on Amazon. If you guys could post a review then that would be huge.

Her sales agent has a great track record for turning published novels into feature films.  Many of the films won Oscars.

Greg and I are down in South Beach working the scene and pulling together our Producer resources to get the film funded and so far it’s been a lot easier than I expected. You think “wait, what? I have to raise millions of dollars to make a movie?!?!”

In order to grow, you have to challenge yourself and do what scares you. Stretch and pleasantly surprise yourself.

Apparently years of preparation does pay off. When the opportunity finally presents itself, you’re effen ready!

So that’s my update. COME VISIT ME IN SOUTH BEACH and like Pedro, I’ll make your wildest dreams come true.

Nate

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

